I Am My Dad’s Photocopy

To celebrate Father’s Day, it’s only timely for me to share these little anecdotes I shared with my dad, the things I learned from him, the things that shaped who I am, what makes me his “photocopy”, and probably also let you in on a new revelation (that sounds too dramatic, but okay here goes).

Almost everyone knows that my dad and I share these things in common: we both studied college in De La Salle University, we both got accepted into the College of Business, we both graduated with a degree in Marketing Management, and lo and behold, (modesty aside) we both received awards for our theses.

(I wrote a blog post about it back in 2015 here)

It’s as if he sent a clone 30 years into the future just to do everything all over again (HAHA! 😂).

Just from that, I already look like Dad’s photocopy. But I wouldn’t have done all those things if it weren’t for how he molded me back in my childhood days. So here are some of the childhood anecdotes I shared with Dad ❤️

When I was young and had to get injections or had to be admitted to the hospital and inserted dextrose needles, I’d usually anticipate the pain with fear. I would panic and cry before anything even happened, just like how any four year-old would react.

This would be the time Dad calms me down. He always used the same “technique”; he wouldn’t reassure me that everything will be done before I know it and I’ll be fine. Instead, he would tell me over and over again, “Brave ka di ba?

Looking back, I realized that his repetition of this statement every time I’d have injections was not just about facing the pain of needles as a kid. But most importantly,

it was in this technique of his that I learned how to believe in myself.

His statement was quite challenging, and I wanted to prove that I really am brave.

And I swear, I still bring that courageous attitude to this day. Today I take risks as if every terrifying thing in life is worth overcoming. And it’s only because I was brought up to believe in the bravery that’s in me, ever since I can remember.


One day when I was around 6 years old, my Dad and I went to Robinsons Galleria and I begged him to buy me a Nintendo Game Boy Advance. Some of my friends had it, and I wanted my own (especially when I experienced how fun it was to play).

Daddy…gusto ko ng Game Boy…” I told him over and over again with a matching pout. To which Dad replied, “Anak, hindi kaya i-afford ni Daddy ngayon eh. Bilihan na lang kita ng iba.

I did not push my luck any further. Instead, I searched around the department store for something else I might like.

I eventually found myself an olive green wallet with a lot of pockets. Which was only worth a hundred Pesos. After we paid for it, I told Dad, “Buti na lang Daddy, ito nabili ko. Kaysa naman yung mahal-mahal na Game Boy na yun.

As I grew older, I understood that it’s not that Dad couldn’t actually afford it. He was just teaching me a thing or two about “value for money”.

Today I’m as kuripot as could be, and I think that story is as symbolic as it could get. I found contentment in something so littlea wallet worth 100 Pesosbut a reminder of how important it is to save. To this day, I think thoroughly first before buying anything, even if it’s worth only 20 Pesos (some people can attest to this, based from true events HAHA! 😂)


I think the reason why I’m a cinephile is also because of my dad. It wasn’t obvious to me at first, but Dad is actually well-versed with movies. Because of this, I was exposed to “quality films” since I was a kid. I also found out we like the same films.

Some weekends ago,  I was watching “It Happened One Night”, a 1934 classic that won Clark Gable his first Oscar. When he saw me watching it, he exclaimed, “Oh! Si Clark Gable!” pointing to the screen. “‘Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn’.” he makes his best impression of Gone With The Wind.

I rolled my eyes at him jokingly and made a face. But I got to be honest, that may just be the moment I realized, ‘I now know why I’m a cinephile’.

I can already see myself as a parent quoting movie characters to my kids (heck, I already do it at present).

But as someone who loves films, this is one of the Dad-and-Daughter childhood cinephile anecdotes that shaped me:

I was probably 6 years old. I saw Dad watching a movie and I sat to watch with him. It was a wedding scene when I sat, and then it shifted to another setting in a dimly-lit room with blinds covering the windows. Dad starts introducing me to what the movie was all about. I remember him saying, “Maganda ‘tong movie na ‘to. Classic. Para siyang big boss na magaling sa business and mag negotiate.”

I watched on and saw these men in suits just talking in the dimly lit office. I didn’t understand or remember a thing about what they were saying. I was too young to understand the story unfolding in the screen right before me. But I was curious. Alas, I got bored and [most likely] went out of the room to play somewhere else.

That movie would eventually be my favorite film of all time. And that film is no other than, The Godfather.

Yes, The Godfather was rated R-18. Yes, I saw it at such a young age. Yes, my dad did not switch the channel when I watched with him (maybe he would have eventually when the violent scenes came on).

While some dads treat their daughters like princesses and protect them at all costs, Dad trained his little princess to be a warrior in the battlefield. 😎 Most girls don’t take interest on Mafia movies, but I did. Only because Dad was one for making me understand that it was not all about guns, blood, gore, and violence, but rather, about how you play your cards in life. Somewhere in those small moments when he let me watch and explained to me what it was about, I began to understand a few things about power and how cool it was to be very good in persuading people.

This was also when I saw a similarity to the image I had in my head on what good salespeople looked like.


I grew up being exposed to the world of sales, for as long as I can remember.

Mom and Dad were there every single day to stand as examples. I never witnessed them close a salenothing like that. But it was the small things that molded me:

I witnessed Dad chatting up with parking security guards and they would take off the cones off of empty parking spaces and let us park every time we were in that place. At a young age, I knew the fulfillment behind that; a security guard knows who you are, as if you’re a VIP, when really, you’re just a regular citizen.

Long story short, there were numerous little instances similar to that when Dad got what he wanted, just because he was good in “PR” (or maybe also charm?). And it amazed me because he was so good at it and he looked like he was doing it effortlessly.

As a little girl, it was magic. I idolized him for that and thought, “One day, I want to be just like Dad who can effortlessly talk to people like that and persuade them in my favor.”

Be careful what you wish for, they say.

These IDs are 34 years apart.

Can you even still believe what you are seeing??? 😂 I mean this really hits the nail on the head as to why I am my dad’s photocopy.

He worked at Mead Johnson back in 1982, for 7 years. He was a Territory Manager. I, on the other hand, am currently working at Mead Johnson, started in 2016, also a Territory Manager. And you can’t see it, but if you turn our IDs around, you will see that we were both hired in the month of April.

You can only imagine how sentimental this legacy looks to both of us. The company’s logo has evolved and everything in between has happened and yet the next generation has arrived. I myself am still shocked by all of this. 😂

Also, he looked for this “heirloom” (his necktie clip) and told me, “Kaya ko pala tinago yan all this time, kasi mag-e MJ ka rin.” 😊

Happy Father’s Day, Dad! I’m lucky I grew up looking up to a role model who’s strong-willed, madiskarte, business-minded, and of course, has good taste in movies! I’m glad I turned out to be a “photocopy” of you 💚

Leave a Reply

